Fourth Sunday of Great Lent

“…This kind comes out only by prayer and fasting…”

These words of the Lord again encourage us on the fourth Sunday of Great lent. At times we forget, or completely fail to see, the reasons why the Church calls us to the feat of temperance. Regrettably, sometime in our understanding lent has only a dietary value, and the prayers and chants of the Great lent – capable of warming our cold hearts – are understood by us only as a variety of the church’s repertoire.

That is why it is necessary to pay careful attention to the message of this Sunday’s Gospel. Having heard that His disciples were unable to free the pitiable young man, the Lord chastises the father of the sufferer for unbelief. “All things are possible for him, who believes,” says the Lord and – as an answer to the cry of the father: “I believe, Lord, help my unbelief!” – He heals the one, who was tormented by the unclean spirit since childhood.

From the question of the disciples “why couldn’t we…” one can see that they believed in the Lord. But He, by His mercy, did not leave them without saving instruction. Having pointed the father to faith as the necessary means of healing, the Lord points the disciples to the perfection of the faith, setting forth prayer and fasting as the means of achieving perfection.

Thus, the Lord teaches that it is necessary to have faith, and not only to have it, but also to perfect it by fasting and prayer. We always need faith, whether we ask the Lord on behalf of others or for ourselves. It is also very important that it not be like that of demons: they believe and tremble, but do not repent. The true fruit of fasting and prayer is a heart that is broken and humbled.

Let us, therefore, break our hearts by fasting and prayer, and humbly cry out: “I believe, O Lord, help my unbelief!” So that we, by the mercy of God and by temperance according to our strength, may be delivered from passions and unclean spirits which destroy us, and may meet the radiant resurrection of the Lord with joy. Amen.

Priest Viatcheslav Davidenko

On self-will

Very often, one can even say, in the majority of cases, we come to church in the search for help, especially during the time of trouble, sorrow, or grief. The heart shows us the way, gives us a direction; the soul of every person yearns for God and inexorably attracts one to the church. Having crossed the threshold of the church, having heard the most accessible and comforting prayer “Lord, have mercy”, little by little, we become eyewitnesses and participants of a great miracle: our repentance, renewal, and healing.

At first look, it seems that this process is extremely simple: church is perceived as a pharmacy, or a store – you come, get what you need, and continue on your way. However, such an approach – even when it is at the subconscious level – always ends in a disappointment. Some for a short while, others for a number of years try to get something from God; I shall dare to say that some try to get their own way with all righteous and unrighteous means.

In some cases, everything is resolved in good time: we are churched and begin to see our needs differently. Yet at other times, on account of our weakness of soul and our willfulness, we get stuck in erroneous opinions, built upon and by all means founded on our fleshly reasonings. Stubbornly striving after our goal, there are times, when we undertake considerable efforts: we fast too strictly, take upon ourselves extended prayer rules, read one after another books on spiritual life, look for elders, in order to use their blessings as some seal of approval for our desires and actions. In other words: we become great zealots, yet without proper understanding.

In itself, fasting, prayer rule, reading of spiritual books is without doubt of great benefit, save for the times when they are, in essence, some bargaining tool in trading with God. I really need something, so I’ll fast more strictly, I’ll say some extra prayers, will read some books, and look, perhaps, the Lord will give me what I want. How always painful it is to see such, though most sincere, yet still mistaken way of thinking.

Such an approach toward spiritual life was already condemned by the Lord. Blinded by our desires, we do not hear His strict warning. Addressing pharisees, lawyers, and scribes, the Lord accused them for trying by all means to keep the letter of the law, at the same time violating its spirit. The Lord said: “Ye blind guides, which strain at a gnat, and swallow a camel!” (Matthew 23:24)

What did He want to say by those words? The Lord did not abolish the law, He fulfilled it and taught us to live by the commandments. Consequently, we should fast, pray, and read the Holy Gospel. Only we must always remember that we do all that in order to have the strength to fight with our passions: with pride, avarice, hardness of heart and others. Our passions are those camels, which we swallow, in other words, we do not pay due attention to fighting them.

If we use the weapons for the spiritual struggle with the passions for our own self-centered goals and then, when, in the end we do not get what we want, we are mistaken about the reasons for our sorrows and consider ourselves righteous and worthy of God’s help, we run the risk of becoming exhausted and mentally ill, of losing our faith, of becoming angry with the church and its ministers, the risk of becoming a prey of the evil one.

Such are the consequences of self-will.

God resists the proud, but gives grace to the humble. Saint Isaac the Syrian said that grace is bestowed not for the virtues, but for the humility, which is born in those, who try to acquire the virtues and come to see their falls, sins and shortcomings.

In the garden of Gethsemane, the Lord gave us an example of how we should pray and ask God: “O my Father, if it be possible, let this cup pass from me: nevertheless not as I will, but as Thou wilt.” (Matthew 26:39) In this short prayer the Lord humbles Himself twice, saying first: “if it be possible”, and then: “nevertheless not as I will, but as Thou wilt.”

Let us also, when we seek help from God, seek deliverance from sorrows, believe with our whole heart in His loving providence for us sinners, knowing that everything always happens for the better, for our benefit. Let us always remember that the words “Thy will be done” are part of the Lord’s prayer. Then, no sorrow, no trial will be able to darken our reason and separate us from the love of God and commitment to His Church.

Четвертая Неделя Великого Поста

«…Сей род изгоняется только молитвою и постом…»

Эти слова Господа вновь воодущевляют нас в четвертое воскресенье Великого поста. Порой мы забываем, или совсем не видим, причины, по которой Церковь призывает нас к подвигу воздержания. К сожалению, иногда пост в нашем понятии имеет лишь диетическую ценность, а молитвы и песнопения Великого поста – способные согреть наши холодные серца – воспринимаются нами лишь как разнообразие церковного репертуара.

Именно поэтому необходимо обратить внимание на повествование воскресного Евангелия. Услышав о том, что Его ученики не смогли освободить несчастного юношу, Господь укоряет отца страдальца за его неверие. «Все возможно тому, кто верует,» говорит Господь и – в ответ на вопль отца: «верую, Господи, помоги неверию моему!» – исцеляет того, кого нечистый дух мучил с детства.

Из вопроса учеников «почему мы не могли…» видно, что они верили в Господа. Но Он, по милости Своей, не отавил и их без спасительного наставления. Указав отцу на веру как на необходимое целебное средство, Господь указывает ученикам на совершенство веры, предлагая молитву и пост как средства совершенствования.

Так Господь учит иметь веру, и не только иметь, но и совершенствовать ее постом и молитвой. Вера нужна нам всегда, просим ли мы Господа о помощи себе или другим. Важно очень и то, чтобы она не была похожа на веру бесов – они веруют и трепещут, но не каются. Истинный плод поста и молитвы – сердце сокрушенное и смиренное.

Сокрушим же и мы свои сердца постом и молитвой, и смиренно воззовем: «верую, Господи, помоги неверию моему!» Да и мы, милостию Божиею и посильным воздержанием, избавимся от страстей и нечистых духов губящих нас и встретим светлое воскресение Господне с радостью. Аминь.

Священник Вячеслав Давиденко

О своеволии

Очень часто, можно даже сказать, в большинстве случаев, мы приходим в церковь в поисках помощи, особенно в скорби, в лишениях, в беде. Сердце подсказывает нам дорогу, направление; душа каждого человека жаждет Бога и в трудную минуту неумолимо влечет его в церковь. Переступив порог храма, услышав самую доступную и столь утешительную молитву «Господи, помилуй», мы, мало по малу, становимся свидетелями и соучастниками великого чуда: нашего покаяния, обновления, и исцеления.

С первого взгляда, кажется, что этот процесс банально прост: церковь воспринимается как аптека, или магазин — пришел, взял, что нужно и пошел дальше. Однако, такой подход — даже на подсознательном уровне — всегда заканчивается разочарованием. Кто-то недолгое время, кто-то на протяжении нескольких лет, старается получить желаемое от Бога; дерзну сказать, что некоторые пытаются добиться своего всеми правдами и — увы — даже неправдами.

В некоторых случаях, все в свое время разрешается благополучно: мы воцерковляемся и начинаем видеть свои нужды другими глазами. Иногда же, по своему малодушию и своеволию, мы увязаем в заблуждениях, построенных и всячески обоснованных на наших плотских рассуждениях. Упорно стремясь к своей цели, мы иной раз прилагаем весьма большие усилия: постимся с чрезмерной строгостью, берем на себя весьма сугубые молитвенные правила, читаем одну за другой книги о духовной жизни, ищем себе старцев, чтобы использовать их благословение как некий мандат на свои желания и действия. Иными словами: мы становимся большими ревнителями, но только не по разуму.

Сами пост, молитвенное правило, чтение духовных книг несомненно несут великую пользу, но только не тогда, когда они, по сути, являются предметами некоей торговли с Богом. Мне что-то очень нужно, я построже попощусь, побольше помолюсь, прочту несколько книг, и, глядишь, Господь даст мне желаемое. Как всегда больно видет такое, пусть даже самое искреннее, но все же, заблуждение.

Такой подход к духовной жизни уже был осужден Самим Господом. Ослепленные своими желаниями, мы не слышим Его строгого предупреждения. Обращаясь к фарисеям, книжникам и законникам, Господь укорял их за то, что они всячески старались выполнять букву закона, при этом нарушая его дух. Господь сказал: «Вожди слепые, оцеживающие комара, а верблюда поглощающие!» (От Матфея 23,24)

Что Он хотел сказать этими словами? Господь не отменял закон, Он его исполнил и нас учил жить по заповедям. Следовательно, нам на самом деле важно и нужно поститься, молиться, читать Священное Евангелие. Только нельзя забывать о том, что все это мы делаем для того, чтобы иметь силы бороться со своими страстями: с гордостью, с жадностью, с жестокостью и прочими. Наши страсти и есть те верблюды, которых мы проглатываем, иными словами, не обращаем на них внимания, не боремся с ними должным образом.

Если мы используем орудия духовной борьбы со страстями для своих эгоистических целей, а потом, когда в итоге не получаем того, чего хотим, заблуждаемся в причинах своих бед и считаем себя праведными и достойными Божией помощи, мы можем прийти в изнеможение и повредиться умом, потерять веру, обозлиться на церковь и ее служителей, стать жертвой, добычей лукавого.

Таковы последствия своеволия.

Бог гордым противится, а смиренным дает благодать. Святой Исаак Сирин говорил, что благодать дается не за добродетели, а за смирение, которое рождается в тех, кто старается стяжать добродетели и видит свои падения, грехи и недостатки.

В Гефсиманском саду, Господь дал нам пример того, как нужно молиться и просить Бога: «Отче Мой! если возможно, да минует Меня чаша сия; впрочем не как Я хочу, но как Ты.» (От Матфея 26,39) В этой короткой молитве Он дважды смиряется говоря один раз: «если возможно», и второй раз: «впрочем не как Я хочу, но как Ты».

Так и мы, ища у Бога помощи, избавления от скорби, будем всем сердцем верить в Его любящий промысел о нас грешных, зная, что все всегда бывает к лучшему, к нашей пользе. Будем всегда помнить, что слова «да будет воля Твоя», являются частью молитвы Господней, «Отче наш». Тогда, никакая скорбь, никакое испытание не сможет помутить нашего рассудка и отлучить нас от любви к Богу и преданности Его Церкви.