Sunday of the Holy Fathers of the first Ecumenical Council

“…That they be one, even as We are…”

Dear brothers and sisters!

How much meaning is in these words of the Lord! Praying for His disciples, for His Church, God the Son asks God the Father that we, Orthodox Christians, members of the Body of Christ, be one even as the Holy Trinity is one. Let us note that the Lord does not say ones, but specifically one, that is one whole and not many that are whole.

Oneness is a quality of the Most Holy Trinity, our God. Oneness with God and with the Church is a quality of every Saint. Oneness is a quality that is seen less and less frequently in us and our contemporaries.

The enemy of the race of men, the enemy of the Church of Christ, has fought against the unity of the faithful since the beginning of time. Yet in all the history of mankind he did not reach such progress as in our days. Never before, as it is now, have nations, and even families been stripped of their unity.

Armed with pluralism, individualism, and pretended freedom of self-expression, we have severed our spiritual oneness with the Holy Church, and thus, with God. While masses of people unite for the achievement of political or economical goals, the spiritual oneness and unity is subjected to criticism and mockery everywhere.

From the billboards to the TV screens, from all sides we are called to indulge our uniqueness one more time, to proceed according to our own understanding one more time, to attain our own personal goal with no regard for the established customs of the surrounding society one more time. Simultaneously, any inclination to follow the advice of the old days, in the best of cases, is seen as old-fashioned, and in the worst, as the weakness of character or even retardation.

All of this makes a person appear more and more like a mad animal which by its own intent separates from the flock, and being alone, perishes in the paws of a predator.

Yes, man is not a herd animal; man is created in the image and likeness of God. The oneness and unity of the Church is not at all a mindless crowd. As such, it would not hold up even at the first attack of the enemy. The personal free will of its members is not crushed in the oneness and unity of the Church. The oneness and unity of the Church are the life in Christ, the union with God.

Therefore, brothers and sisters, how shall we attempt to live in Christ, if we have torn within ourselves the spiritual unity with His Church: with each other?

May the words of the Lord be fulfilled in all of us! May we all be one, for our God – the Most Holy Trinity – is One. Amen!

Priest Viatcheslav Davidenko

Comments are closed.

Неделя Святых Отец первого Вселенского Собора

«…Да будут едино, якоже и Мы…»

Дорогие братья и сестры!

Сколько смысла в этих словах Господа! Молясь о Своих учениках, о Своей Церкви, Бог Сын просит Бога Отца, чтобы мы, Православные Христиане, члены Тела Христова, были едино так же как и Пресвятая Троица. Обратим внимание на то, что Господь не говорит едины, а именно едино, то есть, одно целое а не много целых.

Единство – одно из качеств Пресвятой Троицы, Бога нашего. Единство с Богом и с Церковью – качество каждого Святого. Единство – все реже и реже наблюдаемое качество в нас и наших современниках.

Враг рода человеческого, враг Церкви Христовой, с испокон веков борется против единства верующих. Но никогда за всю историю человечества его успехи не достигли такого уровня как в наши дни. Никогда так, как в наши не были лишены единства не только народы, но даже семьи.

Вооруженные плюрализмом, индивидуализмом и мнимой свободой само-выражения, мы разорвали свое духовное единство со Святой Церковью, и тем самым, с Богом. В то время как массы людей объединяются для достижения политических или экономических целей, духовное единство всюду подвергается критике.

С рекламных афиш, с теле-экранов, постоянно разносятся призывы еще раз поощрить свою уникальность, еще раз поступить именно посвоему, еще раз любой ценой добиться своей личной цели даже если это вопреки устоям окружающего общества. Одновременно, любое решение последовать советам старины, в лучшем случае, рассматривается как старомодность, в худшем, как отсталость или слабость характера.

Все это приводит к тому, что человек все больше и больше походит на сумасшедшее животное, намеренно отбивающееся от стада и погибающее в лапах хищника в своем одиночестве.

Да, человек не стадное животное, он сотворен по образу и подобию Божию. Церковное единство – вовсе не безрассудное сборище. Как таковое оно не выдержало бы и первого натиска со стороны врага. В Церковном единстве не подавляется личная воля членов Церкви. Церковное единство – жизнь во Христе, единство с Богом.

Как же нам, братья и сестры, жить во Христе, если мы порвали внутри себя духовное единство с Его Церковью – друг с другом?

Да исполнятся во всех нас слова Господни! Да будем и все мы едины, ибо Бог наш – Пресвятая Троица – един. Аминь!

Священник Вячеслав Давиденко

Закрыто для комментариев