Appendicitis

There lived a boy.  Each summer, much like other children of his age, he spent at his grandmother’s place.  He spent entire days playing with friends, running through the streets, riding a bike, playing soccer, playing hide and seek, playing war; he came home only to eat, to grab some candy to take outside, and toward evening, to sleep.

A few days in a row his right side was hurting.  The pain was getting worse slowly and finally got so bad that, when he woke up one morning, he was moving from the bed to the couch and back from the couch to the bed to get some relief.  The pain didn’t go away and when his grandmother came home for lunch, he barely ate a tip of the spoon’s worth of mashed potatos and begged to go back to bed.

– Is it your appendix?  – asked the grandmother.  – I don’t know.  – It hurts terribly.  – The boy was looking at his grandmother while she approached the phone.  – Should I call an ambulance?  – No…  – Can a person die from an appendicitis?  – Yes, if it ruptures.  – Then, call an ambulance.  The fear of death outweighed the fear of the examination by a doctor.

The ambulance was quick.  The male nurse felt the boy’s stomach and said that he should be examined by a surgeon.  With tears the grandmother sent the boy to the hospital and went to ask to leave early from work in order to follow her grandson.  At the hospital, after a short examination, the surgeon said:  “Immediately into surgery”.

The grandmother’s call saved the boys life.  His appendix started rupturing shortly before the surgery.  Later on, the doctor said that the next day would have been too late.

Epilogue

There are moments in life when it is critical to ask for help in time.  One may have an “appendicitis” in one’s soul, an “appendicitis” that has to be properly cleaned, or entirely removed, in order to avoid spiritual death.

Unrepented sins contaminate the soul, make it dark, unhappy, restless, deprived of inner peace.  Remembering of wrongs, envy, anger, avarice, lust, moral downfalls, lies, laziness, pride, self-love, self-will, and other sins and passions poison the heart, make it hard, cold, cruel, unable to love.

The one, who has experienced a serious illness, values good health above money and worldly goods.  Let us, therefore, before all else take proper care for the well-being of our soul.  Let us cleanse our hearts with sincere repentance.  Let us forgive our offenders and enemies.  Let us abandon excessive anxiety about the coming day.  Then, we will come to know how invaluable the spiritual health is.

Comments are closed.

Аппендицит

Жил был мальчик.  Каждое лето, как и многие его ровесники, он проводил у бабушки.  Целыми днями он, с другими ребятишками, бегал по дворам, катался на велосипеде, играл в футбол, играл в прятки, в войну; приходил домой только покушать, захватить с собой на улицу конфет, а к вечеру, спать.

Несколько дней подряд у него болел правый бок.  Боль постепенно ухудшалась и наконец стала такой невыносимой, что, проснувшись утром, он стал ходил с постели на диван и с дивана обратно на постель, чтобы найти хоть какое-нибудь облегчение.  Боль не унималась и, когда бабушка пришла с работы домой на обед, внучек съел лишь кончик столовой ложки толченки и снова попросился в постель.

— У тебя, что, аппендицит? — спросила бабушка.  — Не знаю.  — Только очень больно.  — Мальчик смотрел на бабушку, а она подошла к телефону.  — Может быть вызвать скорую?  —  Не надо…  — А от аппендицита можно умереть?  — Можно, если он лопнет.  — Тогда вызывай скорую.  — Страх смерти перевесил страх осмотра доктором.

Скорая прибыла довольно быстро.  Медбрат прощупал мальчику живот и сказал, что его должен осмотреть хирург.  Бабушка со слезами отправила внука в больницу и пошла отпрашиваться с работы, чтобы ехать вслед за ним.  В больнице, после краткого осмотра, хирург строго произнес:  «Немедленно в операционную.»

Бабушкин звонок в скорую спас мальчику жизнь.  Его аппендикс начал лопаться незадолго до операции.  Хирург потом говорил, что на следующий день было бы уже поздно.

Послесловие

Бывают в жизни моменты, когда критически важно вовремя обратиться за помощью.  В душе у человека тоже может образоваться «аппендицит», который нужно или правильно очистить, или удалить, чтобы избежать духовной смерти.

Нераскаянные грехи загрязняют душу, делают ее темной, несчастной, беспокойной, лишенной внутреннего мира.  Злопамятство, зависть, гнев, корысть, похоть, нравственные падения, ложь, леность, гордость, самолюбие, своеволие и прочие страсти и грехи отравляют сердце человека, делают его черствым, холодным, жестоким, не способным к любви.

Тот, кто испытал, что такое тяжелая болезнь, ценит здоровье выше денег и всех земных благ.  Позаботимся же, в первую очередь, о здоровье своей души.  Очистим сердце свое искренним покаянием.  Простим обидчиков и врагов.  Оставим чрезмерное волнение о завтрашнем дне.  Тогда познаем как бесценно здоровье духовное.

Закрыто для комментариев