Sunday of the Myrrh-bearing Women

Christ is Risen!!!

Today, on the third Sunday after Pascha, we commemorate the holy Joseph of Arimathea, Nicodimus – the secret disciple of the Lord – and the myrrh-bearing women: Mary Magdalene, Mary the mother of Cleopas, Salome, Joanna, Martha and Mary – the sisters of Lazarus – and Suzanna, along with others who came with them to the tomb of the Lord. The myrrh-bearing women are specifically remembered on this Sunday because they were the first to see the risen Lord, and Joseph and Nicodemus because they were the ones who buried Him.

The great mercy of God reveals itself in the narration of today’s gospel: the frail women, bravely carrying the sweet spices to the Lord’s tomb, become the first witnesses of His resurrection from the dead. The frail women, desiring faithfully to serve the Lord, Who has fallen asleep, are the first to see the empty tomb. Faithful to the Lord even after His death, they are the first to learn that He is alive.

How harmonious is this narrative with the words of the Lord: “They that are faithful to the end, shall be saved!” How often, in our times, the faithful behold and come to know the great mercy of God! Thus, some, at the time of attentive prayer, unexpectedly behold the grace of the Holy Spirit, descending upon the holy gifts during the Divine Liturgy. Others see different mysteries of God, not asking Him for visions, but only having a desire to serve Him faithfully.

Let us remember the words of the Lord to Thomas, words which we heard last Sunday: “Blessed are they, who have not seen, and yet believed,” and let us not seek visions, lest we fall into beguilement and the deception of the devil. Let us ask help of the Lord, that we may keep the faith to the end, and together with the myrrh-bearing women, may obtain salvation. Amen.

Priest Viatcheslav Davidenko

Palm Sunday

Today is Palm (in Russia – Pussy Willow) Sunday.  People come to church with small bunches of pussy willows in their hands.  Everyone is in a festive mood.  Only one week, filled with wondrous divine services, is left until Pascha.

It would be nice to go back in time in order to draw a small lesson about the meaning of these pussy willows that everyone finds so cute.  This feast, according to the church ustav (rubrics) is called The entry of the Lord into Jerusalem.  Almost two thousand years ago, the Lord, in His humility, came to Jerusalem; to be exact:  He rode in on a donkey.  The day before His coming to Jerusalem, He worked a great miracle:  He raised His friend Lazarus, who was dead four days and already began to decompose and stink in the tomb, from the dead.  The news of such a great and until that time unheard of miracle spread quickly and reached Jerusalem.  For that reason, the people in great multitudes gathered at the entrance to the city in order to look upon this great Wonderworker, the Lord, Who raises from the dead.

The roads in those days were unpaved and, in the hot and dry climate of the Holy Land, very dusty.  That was the very reason why the people put their garments and wide palm branches on the road, making a sort of a carpet, so that when the Saviour were to come there would not be any dust in the air and it would be possible to see Him.  Palms do not grow in Russia, that is the reason why from ancient times there this feast among the people is referred to not as Palm (as it is in the warm countries), but rather as the Pussy Willow Sunday.

The action of the people offers us the following lesson:  the Lord often passes by us, very close to us, but we do not see Him.  In order to see the Lord noetically, we must undertake some labour, offer at least a small sacrifice to God.  People put their garments and palm branches on the road.  Both things are obtained with labour; even if they were to be bought with money, because that has to be earned first as well.  Similarly, in the spiritual life our labours according to our strength: prayer, fasting, and helping our neighbor cover the dust of the passions and cares of the daily life, giving us the possibility to see the Lord spiritually.

Alas, often we wish that others should labour instead of us:  let the father (the priest) pray in the altar, let the candle burn before the icon.  As for ourselves, we do not want to work and that is why we do not receive the grace of God and His consolation.

Standing in the church of God, holding pussy willows (palms) in our hands, let us remember how the people met the Lord during His entry into Jerusalem.  Let us cover the dusty road of earthy trials and sorrows with the possible labours unto the glory of God, with the keeping of His commandments.  Then we will see that this road, on the way to the death on the Cross, was travelled by the King of Glory Himself:  by the Lord Jesus Christ.  Having seen Him, we also will not be afraid of following Him and go to our cross.  Walking after Him, seeing His sufferings, His patience and absence of murmuring, we sinners also will be consoled, for how can one complain about our small trials, when looking upon the passion of the Lord, the passion that He endured for us and for our sake.

Неделя Жен Мироносиц

Христос Воскресе!!!

Сегодня, в третье воскресенье после Пасхи, мы празднуем память святых Иосифа Аримафейского, Никодима – тайного ученика Господа – и жен мироносиц: Марии Магдалины, Марии Клеоповы, Саломии, Иоанны, Марфы и Марии – сестер Лазаря – Сусанны, и прочих, пришедших ко гробу Господню с ними. Память жен мироносиц отмечается в это воскресенье именно потому, что они первые увидели воскресшего Господа, а Иосифа и Никодима потому, что они погребли Его.

В повествовании сегодняшнего евангелия пред нашим взором предстает великая милость Божия: хрупкие женщины, отважно несущие ароматы ко гробу Господню, становятся первыми свидетелями Его воскресения из мертвых. Хрупкие женщины, желающие верно послужить усопшему Господу, первые видят пустой гроб. Верные Господу даже после Его смерти, они первые узнают о том, что Он жив.

Как созвучно это повествование со словами Господа: «верные же до конца, спасутся!» Как часто, в наши времена, верные видят и познают великую милость божию! Так, некоторые, во время внимательной молитвы, неожиданно видят благодать Святого Духа, снисходящую на святые дары во время Божественной Литургии. Другие видят иные тайны Божии, не прося у Него видений, а лишь искренне желая верно служить Ему.

Вспомним слова Господа Фоме, которые мы слышали в прошлое воскресенье: «Блаженны не видевшие, и уверовавшие,» и не будем искать видений, чтобы не впасть в прелесть и обман диавола. Испросим же у Господа помощи, да сохраним веру до конца, и, вместе с женами мироносицами, обретем спасение. Аминь.

Священник Вячеслав Давиденко

Вербное воскресенье

Сегодня, Вербное воскресенье.  Люди приходят в церковь с пучками вербочек в руках.  У всех праздничное настроение.  До Пасхи осталась всего лишь одна, наполненная чудными богослужениями неделя.

Хотелось бы вернуться в прошлое для того, чтобы почерпнуть маленький урок о значении этих милых, дорогих всем вербочек.  Этот праздник, по церковному уставу называется Вход Господень в Иерусалим.  Почти две тысячи лет назад, Господь, в Своем смирении, пришел в Иерусалим — вернее приехал туда на ослике.  За день до Своего пришествия в Иерусалим, Он сотворил великое чудо — воскресил из мертвых Своего друга, Лазаря, который был мертв четыре дня и уже начал разлагаться в гробу и смердить.  Весть о столь великом, неслыханном дотоле чуде быстро распространилась и дошла до Иерусалима.  Поэтому, народ, в великом множестве собрался у входа в город, чтобы посмотреть на этого великого Чудотворца, Господа, Воскресителя из мертвых.

Дороги, в те времена, были грунтовыми и, в сухом и жарком климате Святой Земли, очень пыльными.  Именно поэтому, люди стелили свои одежды и широкие пальмовые ветви на дорогу, образуя некий ковер, чтобы при пришествии Спасителя не было пыли и Его можно было увидеть.  У нас в России пальмы не растут, поэтому с древних времен у нас этот праздник называется в народе не Пальмовым воскресеньем, как он зовется в теплых странах, а Вербным.

Урок же, из действий народа, можно извлечь следующий — Господь часто проходит и мимо нас, но мы Его, в непосредственной близости к нам, не видим.  Для того, чтобы мысленно увидеть Господа, необходимо предпринять некий труд, принести хотя бы малую жертву Богу.  Люди бросали на дорогу свою одежду и пальмовые ветви.  И то, и другое приобретается трудом; даже покупается оно деньгами, которые прежде нужно заработать.  Также и в духовной жизни — наши посильные труды:  молитва, пост и помощь ближним покрывают собой пыль страстей и повседневных забот, позволяя нам духовно лицезреть Господа.

Увы, часто мы хотим, чтобы кто-то другой потрудился за нас — пусть батюшка в алтаре помолится, пусть свечка погорит у иконы.  Мы же, трудиться не хотим и поэтому не получаем благодати и утешения Божия.

Стоя во храме Божием, держа в руках вербочки, вспомним как народ встречал Господа при Его входе в Иерусалим.  Покроем пыльную дорогу земных испытаний и скорбей посильными трудами во славу Божию, исполнением заповедей Его.  Тогда увидим, что по ней, идя к смерти на Кресту, прошел Сам Царь Славы — Господь Иисус Христос и, увидев Его, не убоимся и мы последовать за Ним и пойти к своему кресту.  Идя вслед за Ним, видя Его страдания, Его терпение и безропотность, утешимся и мы, грешные, ибо как можно роптать о наших малых испытаниях, созерцая страдания Господня, которые Он претерпал за нас и ради нас.